Our Partners...

Modified News From Around The Internet
Featherlite Fall Jamboree glory to Jensen; Gustin secures USMTS Casey’s Cup Series crown PDF Print Email
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, September 26, 2012


SPRING VALLEY, Minn. (Sept. 22) – Joey Jensen continued his mastery of the Deer Creek Speedway this season with the biggest win of his career Saturday night as he captured the main event at the 14th Annual Featherlite Fall Jamboree.

The 32-year-old from Forest Lake, Minn., opened a lot of eyes with his career-first USMTS victory Memorial Day Weekend at Deer Creek. He followed that up with a preliminary feature win and a second-place finish at the World Modified Dirt Track Championship in July, and Saturday night he capped off his season with a victory in the most prestigious event in the world of dirt Modified racing against the Best of the Best the sport has to offer.

Polesitter Steve Wetzstein of West Concord, Minn., paced the first two laps of Saturday’s 50-lap finale before relinquishing the lead to Shane Hebert of Lafayette, La. Jon Tesch followed Hebert into second the next lap around the high-banked 3/8-mile clay oval and the pair proceeded to check out from the other 30 drivers in the field.

Lap 9 saw the first of three cautions waved when Jason Cummins’ drive shaft ended up in the middle of turn 3. Ryan Ruter ran over the debris and both drivers were done for the night while the restart closed up the gap between the two leaders and the rest of the field, including third-running Jensen.

Meanwhile, the three drivers battling for the title of USMTS Casey’s Cup Series champion were charging to the front with Stormy Scott, Rodney Sanders and Ryan Gustin all cracking the top 10.

Hebert again held the advantage on the restart and held off repeated attempts by Tesch to make the pass for seven more laps before the ‘Wizard of Watertown’ slipped by on lap 17. Jensen got by Hebert two laps later and set his sights on Tesch.

Not content to follow Tesch around the high side of the racing surface, Jensen dipped to the inside and found some speed in the middle of the track. With 29 laps complete, he blasted into the lead and never looked back.

Tesch held on for the runner-up finish while Jensen collected his fourth career USMTS checkered flag and a $7,700 paycheck.

“This is an unbelievable night,” Jensen said in victory lane. “I don’t even know what to say. I saw that trophy sitting on Rodney’s car in the pits last night and I just thought we have to get us one of those.

“I knew Tesch was close behind us there, so all I could do was not mess up and try to get through the lapped cars as fast as possible.”

< < < Read Full Story > > >
Duffy wins at Marshalltown, Noteboom clinches JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour crown PDF Print Email
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, September 26, 2012


MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa (Sept. 22) – Darin Duffy’s IMCA Modified feature win Saturday night during the Havoc On the High Banks special at Marshalltown Speedway made him $1,000 richer.

Jay Noteboom’s runner-up finish in that race made him champion of the JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour.

Duffy, who had chased Noteboom to the checkers at Marshalltown on Friday, led the last 25 times around the track in the caution-free 30-lapper. Noteboom stayed on Duffy’s back bumper in lapped traffic but had to settle for second.

Ronn Lauritzen, Randy Havlik and hard charger Jon Snyder, who advanced 16 positions, completed the top five. Jeremy Mills shared the point lead with Noteboom going into the night and finished 11th.

Mills, 2011 series champion Mark Elliott, Ryan Dolan and Mark Schulte followed Noteboom in the point race.

< < < Read Full Story > > >
Don Adams Awesome in American Modified Series Action at 191 Speedway PDF Print Email
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, September 26, 2012
Campton, KY-September 22, 2012- After a long hiatus, the American Modified Series returned to action on Saturday evening with the tour's first ever visit to 191 Speedway in Campton, KY to participate in the 2nd Annual Wince Mayabb Memorial event and renowned Modified chassis builder Don Adams of London, KY put his name in the record books by claiming the win and $1,500 first place prize money.

Outside polesitter Jimmy Arnett would take the initial race lead but it would be short-lived as Arnett would get caught up in a six-car pile-up which would end his night. This turn of events of would give Don Adams the race lead and Adams would survive several more caution flags to hold on and take the $1,500 victory. Jim Barnett would take runner-up honors and finish second, while Shon Flanary would start 12th and finish third. Top qualifier Keith Smith and Scotty Kincaid would complete the top five.

The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Kevin Copher, B-Main winner Cy Cundiff, Jim LeMasters, Rocky Wilson, and Josh Stumbo. The 30 lap, $1,500 to win event would be slowed by ten caution flags (one of which turned into red flags) and take 46 minutes to complete.

In preliminary action, Keith Smith would be the Williams Precision Engine top qualifier among 26 entries at 13.134 seconds. Greg Lucas would win Hypercoil Springs heat one, while Jimmy Arnett won Wiles Driveshafts heat two, and Don Adams would take the win in VP Racing Fuels heat three. Cy Cundiff would take the checkered flag in the B-Main.

< < < Read Full Story > > >

Friday, 26. August 2016

Valid XHTML & CSS | Site Design by: Daniel Digtal